Julien Baker – Turn Out The Lights


With Turn Out the Lights, Baker returns to a much bigger stage, but with the same core of breathtaking vulnerability and resilience. From its opening moments – when her chiming, evocative melody is accompanied by swells of strings — Turn Out the Lights throws open the doors to the world without sacrificing the intimacy that has become a hallmark of her songs.

The album was recorded at the legendary Ardent Studios in her hometown of Memphis, TN, and mixed by Craig Silvey (The National, Arcade Fire). This evolution from ‘Sprained Ankle’s intentionally spare production allows Baker — who is still the album’s sole producer and writer – greater scope and freedom. Strings and woodwinds now shade the corners of her compositions, and Baker takes to piano rather than guitar on several tracks, pushing the 21-year-old Baker’s work to cinematic heights of intensity.

SKU: N/A Categories: ,


A1. Over
A2. Appointments
A3. Turn Out The Lights
A4. Shadowboxing
A5. Sour Breath
A6. Televangelist

B1. Everything That Helps You Sleep
B2. Happy To Be Here
B3. Hurt Less
B4. Even
B5. Claws In Your Back

Additional information




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Julien Baker – Turn Out The Lights”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *