Spoon – Hot Thoughts


Hot Thoughts is the bravest, most sonically inventive work of Spoon’s career. With all due respect to earlier efforts that have made the quintet both critically acclaimed and a commercial contender, preconceptions about this band are about to be obliterated. That’s not to say Hot Thoughts doesn’t have a requisite supply of infectious earworms but there’s a lyrical bent that’s as carnal as it’s crafty, and a newfound sense of sonic exploration that results in the genre smasher Spoon have flirted with in the past but not fully consummated. Co-produced by Spoon and Dave Fridmann and reunited with Matador Records (third time’s the charm), let’s acknowledge that Britt Daniel’s spot in the pantheon of rock’s genius songwriters was well established a ways back, but with the crackling, incandescent, multi-dimensional backdrop conjured on “Hot Thoughts”, the lines between accessible and experimental become non-factors for once and all. It’s pop as high art, delivered with total confidence and focus.

SKU: N/A Categories: ,


A1. Hot Thoughts
A2. WhisperI’lllistentohearit
A3. Do I Have To Talk You Into It
A4. First Caress
A5. Pink Up

B1. Can I Sit Next To You
B2. I Ain’t The One
B3. Tear It Down
B4. Shotgun
B5. Us

Additional information




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Spoon – Hot Thoughts”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *